Impediment #3: Really? Must I Keep Going?

It turns out that as I was lecturing about the pitfalls of the writer’s life, I was falling hard for those pitfalls all over again.  I can’t help it, I’m irrevocably in love with both laziness and procrastination.  And I had all these other impediments written down, but what good would it be for me to point them out?  Chances are, you’re already aware of them.  You don’t need me to point out your recurring love affair with sloth – your mother pointed that out years ago.  And you certainly don’t need me targeting you for your procrastination habits.  In fact, this blog is something of a procrastination tool.

I come home from work, fully intent on writing (after the gym, after the gourmet dinner, of course), but I always navigate towards the Google Chrome icon and from there, it’s a losing battle.  In fact, this post is now taking time away from my writing, and I know it.  Oh, I know it.

Enough of my advice.  I mean, based on the effort I’ve put out as a writer in the last few weeks, I’m not even qualified to send such helpful nonsense out there.

Here’s an idea I’ve been playing around with for a while: how about some sort of writing challenge?  I give myself a little while to happen upon some inspiration, to really tap a vein full of story potential, and then post on the real pitfalls, setbacks, and helpful advice I stumble across while writing.  Truly writing.

Let’s give it a go.  Details to follow shortly.