Your Favorite Books on Writing

If you were to ask me what I wanted more than anything in the world, my selfish answer would be to author a book, to author dozens of books!  But surprise me at home during my peak writing time, and what would you find?  Me on Twitter, me on Facebook, me baking double batches of muffins just to get out of writing.  Why the contradiction?  Because I’m the procrastinating, undisciplined sort.  I’d rather dream than put those dreams into action, which is why I’m so eager to turn this habit of mine around.

I’m a sucker for writing books.  Books that motivate, inspire, and drive me to write.  And with a tendency towards constant daydreaming, I need to read these types of books often.  Just last week I bought Robert McKee’s Story: Substance, Structure, Style, and the Principles of Screenwriting and Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles.  And I just finished reading Donald Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life.  Right now, I’m on a writing high.

Paste Magazine lists its take on “The 10 Best Books About Writing,” with the top five being:

1. Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on the Writing Life

2. John Gardner’s On Moral Fiction

3. Annie Dillard’s The Writing Life

4. Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art

5. Stephen King’s On Writing

Do you agree with this list?  Any favorites to add?  Have you read any writing books that just don’t quite make the cut?

Let’s hear them!