Stay With Me Now: What You Can Expect in the Future

Let’s use the term honing.  I’m honing my focus for this blog.

This past year has been a stressful one, a year filled with pain and growth.  I’ve managed to make it through without any [physical] scars for boasting.  I’ve even learned a few essential life lessons, such as how to steer clear of door-slamming roommates, how to front an attack of bloodthirsty fruit flies claiming the kitchen for their own, and even how to politely ask a roommate to turn off that awful music.

Well, perhaps not the last one.

But in the midst of all the stress and life lessons, I managed to grab hold of something greater: the clarity that comes with knowing exactly what you want out of life.

And now I finally know.

I’ve spent countless nights at the keyboard, tapping away for all the wrong reasons.  I couldn’t see past the label of writer.  I couldn’t fathom an identity outside of writer.  What worth would I have if I never wrote a single sentence more?  Why was I taking up space if I didn’t methodically type a certain amount of words every night?

The process of epiphany happened slowly.  No fireworks.  No crazed look in the eye that often comes with sudden realizations.  Even if it makes you squirm, here it is: I realized that I have no greater purpose than to seek God, whether I seek him through art, through nature, through the smile of a passing stranger.  And while my passion for writing consumed every waking thought, I discovered that I am also passionate about another form of writing: life writing.

Yes, I just invented that term, but I mean the kind of writing that translates into living.  What if we were to view our lives as great masterpieces intended for embossed tomes?  Would we live out each day like heroic protagonists, never again satisfied with passivity?  Would we arrange our weeks, months into epic quests for truth, for love, for God?

You tell me.

Emily Dickinson might have disagreed, but I fully believe that a good story cannot be written without good living.  Grand, sweeping stories can only alight the page if the author has lived out a grand, sweeping story of his/her own.  Tolkien may not have lived through the epic battle scenes of his fantasies, but I bet he caught the eye of a pretty lady and then rushed off to fill books with only his memory of her smile as his muse.

No matter how large or small the stories, we need to live them fully.

So bear with me as this blog takes a few twists and turns.  Tell me what you like, tell me what you don’t like.  I’ll listen.  And from now on, I’ll be blogging not only about writing and crafting stories but also living them out.

Let me hear your thoughts!